In accordance with the provisions of the Texas Education Code, all University students, faculty, staff, and contract employees are required to obtain and properly display a LeTourneau University parking decal from the University Police Department on each motor vehicle in which they frequent University facilities.
Remember LeTourneau University is a “walking campus." Due to its compact structure and close proximity of classrooms to the living facilities and a limited availability of parking, driving motor vehicles to and from classes is strongly discouraged. In order to better facilitate the high volume of pedestrian traffic a “Zone Parking” procedure has been established which requires all students to park in designated areas from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The Tyler East, and Trinity Dorms as well as Durham House, Carpenter House, McKinley House, and Howe House parking lots are under parking restriction 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week.
The LeTourneau University Handbook contains a number of rules for operation of any type of motor vehicle on university property. In addition to the rules that are published in the handbook, all laws of the State of Texas are applicable and enforceable by University Police. While violations observed by University Police are not necessarily recorded in your state driving record, fines can be assessed by the Chief of University Police and attached to your student account. All members of the University Police Department have full enforcement authority of the University whether they are on duty at the time they observe an infraction or not. Faculty and staff members may receive verbal or written warnings as well as citations. Citations will process through the Financial Affairs office and will result in a bill being sent out to the recipient.
Traffic citations may be delivered to the driver or passenger of a motor vehicle at the time of an observed infraction. Citations for parking offenses may be affixed to the windshield or other part of an unattended vehicle in a conspicuous location. Under certain circumstances a citation may be mailed to the owner of a vehicle. In all such cases, the owner of a vehicle is responsible for the payment of all fines associated with his or her vehicle.
Traffic offenses for which a person is cited may be appealed to the Chief of University Police. All appeals must be submitted in writing and received by the office of the Chief of University Police within 10 working days of the date of the offense. Appeals received after 10 days will not be considered. The decision of the Chief of University Police concerning the status of a traffic charge may be appealed to the office of the Student Affairs in the same manner as the initial appeal.