News Releases 2008

LETU Names 13 Seniors to Gold Key Honor Society

Mon, Nov 10 2008

LeTourneau University announced 13 students have been inducted into the 2008-2009 Gold Key Honor Society, which recognizes outstanding senior students for their academic achievements. 
The students were selected by LETU faculty for the honor and include: Joe Birky of Sidney, Neb.; Andrea Blumentritt of Austin, Texas; Nathan Brower of Longview, Texas; Terese Conley of Salinas, Calif.; Tyler Fontaine of Sherman, Texas; Joshua Harper of Atlanta, Texas; Amanda Norton Harrison of San Antonio, Texas; Gregory Poelman of Longview, Texas; Christopher Reed, of Stanton, Iowa; Sarah Simpson of Avinger, Texas; Jessica Swingle of Virginia Beach, Texas; Kyle Thompson of Longview, Texas; and Jonathan Wilcoxson of Winona Lake, Ind.
To be considered for membership, students are judged in three areas: learning, loyalty and leadership. A minimum grade point average of 3.20 also is necessary for membership. Students are nominated by their LeTourneau faculty adviser, based on their GPA and accumulated hours at LeTourneau, then voted on by the entire faculty. A Gold Key Honor Society member is expected to maintain high academic and personal standards and is encouraged to contribute to the quality of academic life at LeTourneau University, according to faculty adviser Lois Knouse. 
LeTourneau University is an interdenominational Christian university with academic majors in the aeronautical sciences, business, education, engineering, the liberal arts and sciences. LeTourneau University is located in Longview, Texas, but also offers business degrees and teacher certification programs at five education centers in Austin, Bedford, Dallas, Houston and Tyler.